Swords, guns and… bricks?

What I’m currently playing and why. Some insight.

So I figured that any visitors to my blog since it got started might be thinking ‘Hey, this guy SAYS he likes games, but what does that mean exactly?’ For all anyone knows I could be sitting in a darkened room, curtains drawn, mindlessly playing my way through thirty games of FIFA a day just waiting on my collection of classic PS1 games finally selling on Gumtree so I can spend it all on packs for my Ultimate Team. Well, I’d like to put to rest any doubts that anyone may have. In this post I’ll be explaining what I’m playing at the moment, giving some insight into the kinds of games I enjoy. I wont be going into much detail regarding the games themselves, aside from a brief overview, as I plan to do some more in depth reviews in the near future. Lets begin.

Nioh

Nioh, developed by Team Ninja and published by Koei Tecmo and Sony Interactive is quite frankly a game that is right up my street. Based (loosely, oh so loosely) on the life of the historical English samurai William ‘Anjin’ Adams, the game takes place at the beginning of the 17th century in Japan. Put simply, it’s an action RPG. That really doesn’t cover it though as the game is complex from the beginning with tons and tons of weapons and armour, basically all of which are unique and are rained on you with Diablo-esque frequency right from the beginning. Options for crafting, online play coupled with leaderboards and the ability to respec your character on a whim all mean that your first playthrough of the game is highly enjoyable.

nioh-screen-07-ps4-eu-09nov16

It is a genuine pleasure learning the nuances of the myriad ways that all the different weapons, stances, armour sets and ninja style techniques can all come together. Not giving too much away at the moment as I plan on doing a full review of the game within the next week or so, but after plugging about 170 hours since release into this, I can assure you the replayability factor with this game is high, with more content on the way soon.

 

The Last of us Remastered

I know I’m super late to the party on this one but I’ve had a £10 PSN card burning a hole in my digital pocket for a few months and couldn’t resist this for such a bargain price. I’m sure most of us have heard of The Last Of Us, developed by Naughty Dog and published by Sony. Having never played the original on PS3 (2013 release) or the remastered version (2014) I figured it would be a nice distraction from the slaying of demons in feudal Japan.

 

I was not wrong. Switching from the high octane hack-n-slash gameplay of Nioh to this was indeed a shock to the system. Instead of rushing face first towards a pThe-Last-of-Us-Remasteredack of vicious demons, bandits and the undead, I now find myself skulking around darkened corridors and car parks with a brick in my hand and 3 bullets for my revolver. Not to say that it’s not a great game, it really is. I wont be reviewing this one, but I do plan on making a post on it soon. It’s very cinematic, and as such the character and voice acting is superb, some pretty darn emotive stuff right there. Again, more on that later though.

 

 

 

Battlefield 1

I’ve never been able to resist the call of a good first person shooter. Thinking back to the days of online Halo on my clunky old Hewlett-Packard PC or even to COD4 makes me pretty darn happy. COD is a young mans game these days if you ask me, and none of the other console FPS releases have really tickled my fancy. BF1 is good, but it’s not great. Not yet anyway. Developers EA DICE have a reasonably good track record of steadily improving their games over time, and I see no reason why this latest iteration of the battlefield franchise will be any different. The campaign is one of the best I’ve honestly played in years, seeing the Great War from different angles instead of viewing it all play out from one perspective is a refreshing change. As we all know however, the real lure of any FPS comes in the form of online multiplayer.

ogImage.img

Giving us the same game modes as previous ‘fields games feels like a cosy return to home for many long time players of the franchise and with the addition of a few new pretty sweet game modes, (War Pigeons!) it’s got it’s charms. I still play regularly but as with any online FPS it can become frustrating, although that’s definitely more about me than the game itself. The servers are solid, and the gunplay feels tight and accurate but at present I feel like it just needs a little more in the way of weaponry and maybe some customisation, but again that’s just me. More to come on this one in the next week or two as well, so I shall say no more.

 

So, that’s all folks! Those are the three games that I’m currently getting stuck into at present in the greatest volume, although I’m still occasionally dipping my toes into Skyrim, Bioshock: The Collection and up until very recently Tom Clancy’s The Division. That last one’s a bit of a sore spot for me at the moment, more details to come later. As always thanks for reading this far and please don’t hesitate to get in touch with any criticisms or commentary.

SToo

Leave a Reply

